Recreating Comfort: quick and simple rice porridge recipe

Growing up, I loved being sick. Not because I had a particular fondness for fevers and the like, but because my mom would always make her special porridge. Similar to congee, she would simmer rice, veggies, and rotisserie chicken cut into very small pieces in chicken broth – it was basically my chicken noodle soup in terms of “get better soon” foods.

My version is much quicker and simpler, but reminds me of my mom’s. There are only two essential ingredients: leftover rice and broth, in equal amounts.

rice and broth
Before adding more broth.

I ended up cooking 1 1/2 cups of rice in 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth – vegetable broth is a good substitute, but you really want something light because this is supposed to be relatively plain.

An important note: if you’re using frozen veggies, add them before you start cooking to give them the proper amount of time. Anything else (eggs, pre-cooked meat, fresh vegetables) can be added once the rice and broth combo begins to thicken.

cooking rice and broth
After five minutes on medium-high heat.

After five or so minutes, I stirred in an egg and fried wheat gluten to the porridge.

IMG_4324

I grew up eating this like it was candy – it’s chewy and carries the soy sauce taste, but I was hooked on it. You can find this in Asian grocery stores, sometimes paired with mushrooms or peanuts.

I let the porridge stay on the stove to make sure the egg cooked thoroughly, then turned off the heat and transferred half to a bowl.

IMG_4319original
The finished product.

I chose to top my porridge with furikake, but feel free to add whatever suits your tastes. Or have it plain. Whatever floats your boat.


What foods do you have when you’re sick? Feel free to share them below!

Leave a comment